R. I. P. – Nelsan Ellis (1978 – 2017)

I am saddened to learn of the passing of Nelsan Ellis. I worked with him briefly on True Blood and found him to be a very gracious and very giving actor. He was not only talented but bright, friendly and conversational. I asked him if he wouldn’t mind appearing on our podcast and he agreed without reservation. A few months later I called him up and arranged the interview while he was in New Orleans (if I remember correctly) shooting Lee Daniel’s The Butler. He was walking around outside on set while we conducted the interview and expected a ten minute interview, but we kept him on for almost an hour without complaint. He was a very genuine person and I felt honored to have known him for what little time that I did.

Here is the link to that broadcast:

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/worstshowontheweb/7

It’s the 07-30-12 episode.

Our condolences to his family and friends.

– Kurtis

Leave a Reply

