R. I. P. – Marilyn Burns (1950 – 2014)

I’ve never been a huge horror fan, but I’ve seen my share of the classics. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is one of the few entries I’ve seen in the slasher genre that really manages to be truly scary, rather than just gross, sexist, and exploitative. Marilyn Burns and her performance of sheer, utter terror is one of the main reasons why it holds up. She went through hell to make that movie, and her hard work paid off.  RIP

*

– Peter Warden

Leave a Reply

